New era begins at Mississippi Thunder Speedway in 2023

Officials at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway unveiled a new ownership team on Wednesday for the racing facility located in the beautiful bluffs of Fountain City, Wisconsin.

Track owner Bob Timm introduced the new ownership alignment which includes Timm and Don Werner taking majority ownership of the big 1/3-mile. The longtime business partners will be joined by minority owners Tyrone Lingenfelter—the current and continuing promoter—as well as Trenton Berry and Austin Krueger of RacinDirt.

Together, this group forms a team committed to growing fan attendance, driver support and building on the family friendly environment for which the previous ownership built the ground work.

"Myself and my wife Paula have been co-owners of Mississippi Thunder Speedway, along with my sister Tina and my brother-in-law Tom Lockner, for the past 14 years; and we all played an instrumental role together in laying the foundation for what's become the success story of Mississippi Thunder Speedway," explained Timm. "I want to thank them for the time and effort they've put into MTS for the last 14 years.

"I've been extremely partial to this location for more than 40 years, or 50 years. I remember playing around in the sand back in 1972, '73, '74; So, I started looking for opportunities to keep it intact and have it move forward beyond 2022. So, I feel extremely fortunate to be able to put together this new ownership group that we're unveiling today."

Lingenfelter explained his excitement for the opportunity and enthusiasm for a successful 2023 season and the extended future of Mississippi Thunder Speedway.

"I think the biggest thing that this solidifies—for me and anyone visiting MTS—is that we're in this for the long haul."

Mississippi Thunder Speedway is truly excited to be looking forward to the 2023 season, and we hope you will join us for another year of fast and furious family-friendly Friday nights.

The Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series will highlight the Friday night action which features USRA Modifieds, Medieval USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, USRA Hobby Stocks and USRA Late Models. This will be the first full season for the USRA Stock Cars at MTS.

For additional details, stay tuned to and their social media channels.

Continuing to crush it: Year after year, the USRA continues to attract more racetracks and dirt track racers through fair, logical and cost-effective rules accompanied by an organization that puts the racers, racetracks and their fans first. In the 2022 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series, more than 50 of America’s finest dirt ovals host over 1,000 nights of racing.

USRA competitors can register online at MyRacePass today. Alternatively, you can call (515) 832-6000 to register by phone, or submit a completed USRA License Application by email at or fax (515) 832-7958. You can download the application at

To learn more, check out for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USRA news delivered to your inbox.

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersChevrolet PerformanceChristie Door CompanyFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsK1 RaceGear by Ryan BowersKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSunoco Race Fuels.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Allen Autosports Race CarsARMI ContractorsBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDAY MotorsportsGunshepherd.comInnovative AutoGlass & Window TintPBM Performance ProductsStar 1 Roofing & ConstructionStealth Oilwell ServicesTexas Locomotive SolutionsTNT Auto

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansEdelbrockHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks & SpringsJE PistonsKeyser ManufacturingLandrum Performance SpringsMedieval ChassisMSDPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1QuickCarRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Disc Brakes.

USRA RACETRACKS: 67 Speedway of Texarkana, 81 Speedway, Alien Motor Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Caney Valley Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Chateau Speedway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Diamond Park Speedway, Eagle Valley Speedway, Elk City Motorsports Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Longdale Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Motor Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red Cedar Speedway, Red Dirt Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park, Route 66 Motor Speedway, Sabine Speedway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, Sports Park Raceway, Springfield Raceway, Super Bee Speedway, Thunder Valley Speedway, Tomahawk Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tulsa Speedway, U.S. 36 Raceway, Vado Speedway Park, West Texas Raceway, Winneshiek Raceway.