Shields wins, others wet in rain-shortened Lakeside Speedway action

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, Sept. 15, 2023

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver and hometown


Heat #1:
1. (1) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
2. (2) 15W Wyatt Gaggero, Wichita, Kan.
3. (5) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry, Kan.
4. (4) 712 Trevor Hughes, Westville, Okla.
5. (3) 42 Sam Florence, Lathrop, Mo.
6. (6) 45 Randy Herrmann, Sabetha, Kan.

Heat #2:
1. (3) 65 Tyler Davis, Haysville, Kan.
2. (1) 7G Gabe Hodges, Lebo, Kan.
3. (4) 33 Jaren Martin, Republic, Mo.
4. (2) 92 Daniel Scrogham, Peculiar, Mo.
5. (5) 18 Brad Johnson, Cameron, Mo.

Heat #3:
1. (2) 127 Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan.
2. (1) 19SB Lance Mari, El Centro, Calif.
3. (5) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
4. (4) 247 Jarret Dotson, Baxter Springs, Kan.
5. (3) 37J Ronnie Burkhardt, Topeka, Kan.

Rained out, postponed to Sept. 22


Heat #1:
1. (3) 42T Tim Shields, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (1) 115 Jason Park, Kansas City, Kan.
3. (4) 39K Shane Schmidt, Topeka, Kan.
4. (6) 74 Rodney Schweizer, Kansas City, Kan.
5. (2) 85 Darrin Schmidt, Winchester , Kan.
6. (5) 91J Jaylen Wettengel, Topeka, Kan.

Heat #2:
1. (4) 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo.
2. (5) 54 Buz Kaster, Kansas City, Kan.
3. (2) 27 David Oxford, Platte City, Mo.
4. (1) 18X Aidan Ayres, Kearney, Mo.
5. (3) 5T Robert Garst, Topeka, Kan.

1. (2) 42T Tim Shields, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (9) 85 Darrin Schmidt, Winchester , Kan.
3. (11) 91J Jaylen Wettengel, Topeka, Kan.
4. (1) 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo.
5. (4) 115 Jason Park, Kansas City, Kan.
6. (5) 39K Shane Schmidt, Topeka, Kan.
7. (3) 54 Buz Kaster, Kansas City, Kan.
8. (8) 18X Aidan Ayres, Kearney, Mo.
9. (7) 74 Rodney Schweizer, Kansas City, Kan.
10. (10) 5T Robert Garst, Topeka, Kan.
11. (6) 27 David Oxford, Platte City, Mo.


Heat #1:
1. (1) 5 Reece Solander, Emporia, Kan.
2. (4) 12C Stephen Clancy, Odessa, Mo.
3. (6) 47 Tyson Lanfermann, Atchison, Kan.
4. (2) 54JR Eddie Ingram Jr., Kansas City, Kan.
5. (5) 36 Travis Alexander, Tonganoxie, Kan.
6. (3) 30 Dakota Jennings, Leavenworth, Kan.

Heat #2:
1. (1) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
2. (3) 57 Chad Clancy, Polo, Mo.
3. (5) 1 Kyle Henning, Atchison, Kan.
4. (6) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville, Kan.
5. (2) 311 John Baker, Basehor, Kan.
6. (4) 54 Rodney Schweizer, Kansas City, Kan.

Heat #3:
1. (5) 90 Jessie Mulich, Bonner Springs, Kan.
2. (2) 81 Austin Charles, Basehor, Kan.
3. (1) 36A Brian Andrews, Bonner Springs, Kan.
4. (4) 44H Trevor Hunt, Liberty, Mo.
5. (3) 38D Darrion McLaughlin, Excelsior Springs, Mo.
6. (6) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee, Kan.

Heat #4:
1. (4) 56 Shadren Turner, St. Joseph, Mo.
2. (1) 14J Jacob Hodges, Lebo, Kan.
3. (5) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
4. (2) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville, Kan.
5. (3) 8 Terry Bruner, Leavenworth, Kan.

Rained out, postponed to Sept. 22

Summit USRA Nationals nears: The 10th Annual Summit USRA Nationals powered by Chevrolet Performance returns to the "Diamond of Dirt Tracks" on October 2-7. This year's event will feature USRA Modifieds, Medieval USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, USRA Hobby Stocks and USRA Tuners.

Racers are encouraged to register online now at or you can download the entry form here and then mail or fax your completed form. You can also call the USRA office at (515) 832-6000 to sign up.

Fans can purchase tickets online here.

USRA moving fast forward: For more than two decades, the USRA has attracted more and more racetracks and dirt track racers each year through fair, logical and cost-effective rules accompanied by an organization that puts the racers, racetracks and their fans first. During the 2023 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series, more than 60 of America's finest dirt ovals will host more than 1,000 nights of racing.

USRA competitors can register online here or call (515) 832-6000 to register by phone. You can also download the application here and then submit your completed form by email at or fax at (515) 832-7958.

To learn more, check out Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to join our email list and get USRA news and exclusive promotions delivered to your inbox.

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersChevrolet PerformanceChristie Door CompanyFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSunoco Race Fuels.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Allen Autosports Race CarsARMI ContractorsBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDAY MotorsportsDuvall ElectricGunshepherd.comInnovative AutoGlass & Window TintPBM Performance ProductsStar 1 Roofing & ConstructionStealth Thru TubingTexas Locomotive SolutionsTNT Auto

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansEdelbrockHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks & SpringsJE PistonsK1 RaceGear by Ryan BowersKeyser ManufacturingLandrum Performance SpringsMD3Medieval ChassisMSDPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1Quarter MasterQuickCar Racing ProductsRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Disc Brakes.

USRA RACETRACKS: 67 Speedway of Texarkana, 81 Speedway, Alien Motor Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Bolivar Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Diamond Park Speedway, Eagle Valley Speedway, Electric City Speedway, Elk City Motorsports Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gondik Law Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Hunt County Raceway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Legacy Speedway, Longdale Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Raceway, Northwest Missouri State Fairgrounds, Outlaw Motor Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Red Cedar Speedway, Red Dirt Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park, Route 66 Motor Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sabine Speedway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, Sandia Speedway, Sports Park Raceway, Springfield Raceway, Super Bee Speedway, Thunder Valley Speedway, Tomahawk Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tulsa Speedway, US 36 Raceway, Vado Speedway Park, West Texas Raceway, Winneshiek Raceway.