Fairmont Raceway, Sports Park Raceway pair up for Friday Night Lights

Officials from the Sports Park Raceway in Fort Dodge, Iowa, and Fairmont Raceway in Fairmont, Minnesota, will be working in tandem during the 2023 racing season to bring Friday Night Lights to life for dirt track racing fans.

In addition to the regular Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series track and national points funds, drivers racing at the two tracks this year will compete for a bonus points fund for the top five drivers that acquire the most points between the two historic dirt ovals located about 90 miles apart.

Every scheduled night at each track will count and drivers in all divisions are competing against each other for this extra money.

The driver who earns the most points will pocket a $1,000 cash prize while the second-place finisher will get $800. third place will earn $650, fourth gets $450 and the final competitor in the top five will add $300 to his bank account.

Using the USRA points system, it'll work like this: Racer X finishes third at the Sports Park Raceway on Friday and earns 91 points. The following Friday Racer X wins at Fairmont and garners 100 points for a total of 191 points for the two weekends. All of the points each driver earns is combined at the end of the year for the racers who supported both tracks.

Why are we doing this? We've heard from some drivers that would like to run both tracks, but since both race on Fridays that makes things difficult. Therefore, the two tracks will only have one night (June 2) where we overlap and race on the same Friday night.

Here's the 2023 Friday Night Lights schedule for Fairmont Raceway and Sports Park Raceway:

Fri May 5 – Fairmont Raceway (Opening Night)
Fri May 12 – Sports Park Raceway (Tuners $500 to win)
Fri May 19 – Fairmont Raceway (Vintage Cars)
Fri May 26 – Fairmont Raceway (Weekly Race)
Fri Jun 2 – Sports Park Raceway (Farmers Night) & Fairmont Raceway (Bike Night)
Fri Jun 9 – Fairmont Raceway (Weekly Race)
Fri Jun 16 – Sports Park Raceway (Marsh Memorial + B–Mods $1,000 to win) *
Mon Jun 19 – Fairmont Raceway (USRA Summer Shootout)
Fri Jun 23 – Sports Park Raceway (Mike Deal Memorial + USRA Stock Cars $5,000 to win)
Fri Jun 30 – Sports Park Raceway (Fireworks Night + Karl Chevrolet Dirt Truck Series)
Fri Jul 28 – Sports Park Raceway (Hobby Stocks $1,000 to win + Karl Chevrolet Dirt Truck Series)
Wed Aug 2 – Fairmont Raceway (Wednesday Night Racing)
Fri Aug 11 – Sports Park Raceway (Attig & Hobbs Kids Night + Modifieds $1,500 to win)
Fri Aug 18 – Fairmont Raceway (Fair Race)
Fri Aug 25 – Fairmont Raceway (Season Championships)
Fri Sep – Sports Park Raceway (Season Championships)

Both tracks will feature USRA Modifieds, Medieval USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, USRA Hobby Stocks and USRA Tuners as part of their Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series programs.

The Fairmont Raceway is located at the Martin County Fairgrounds. The physical address is 1300 N Bixby Rd, Fairmont, MN 56031. Find out more by visiting FairmontRaceway.com.

The Sports Park Raceway is located 0.9 mile north of US 20 on US 169, then 0.5 mile east on 230th in Fort Dodge, Iowa. To learn more, visit SportsParkRaceway.com.

Continuing to crush it: Year after year, the USRA continues to attract more racetracks and dirt track racers through fair, logical and cost-effective rules accompanied by an organization that puts the racers, racetracks and their fans first. In the 2022 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series, more than 50 of America’s finest dirt ovals host over 1,000 nights of racing.

USRA competitors can register online at MyRacePass today. Alternatively, you can call (515) 832-6000 to register by phone, or submit a completed USRA License Application by email at office@usraracing.com or fax (515) 832-7958. You can download the application at usraracing.com/downloads.

To learn more, check out usraracing.com for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USRA news delivered to your inbox.

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersChevrolet PerformanceChristie Door CompanyFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsK1 RaceGear by Ryan BowersKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMesilla Valley TransportationMSDNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSunoco Race Fuels.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Allen Autosports Race CarsARMI ContractorsBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDAY MotorsportsGunshepherd.comInnovative AutoGlass & Window TintPBM Performance ProductsStar 1 Roofing & ConstructionStealth Oilwell ServicesTexas Locomotive SolutionsTNT Auto PartsYouDirt.com.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansEdelbrockHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks & SpringsJE PistonsKeyser ManufacturingLandrum Performance SpringsMedieval ChassisPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Disc Brakes Five1seven DesignsFour Seven Designs Salon & BoutiqueHi-Tek PavingJerovetz Motorsports Racing PartsPenske Racing ShocksRace Smart WrapsS&S Fishing & RentalTraeger Wood Pellet Grills by Elliott Motorsports.

USRA RACETRACKS: 67 Speedway of Texarkana, 81 Speedway, Alien Motor Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Big O Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Caney Valley Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Chateau Speedway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Diamond Park Speedway, Eagle Valley Speedway, Elk City Motorsports Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gondik Law Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Longdale Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Midway Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Pike County Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Rocket Raceway Park, Sabine Speedway, Sports Park Raceway, Springfield Raceway, Super Bee Speedway, Superbowl Speedway, Thunder Valley Speedway, Tomahawk Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tulsa Speedway, Vado Speedway Park, West Texas Raceway, Winneshiek Raceway.