Cummins, Johnson pick up feature wins at Chateau Speedway
Print this page
June 4, 2021  |  by Matthew Grage

Michael Johnson won the USRA B-Mod main event.

After two weeks of rainouts Chateau Speedway got back into the swing of things Friday night with Mother Nature changing things up and turning up the heat.

Temperatures around 90 degrees made for a warm evening at the track and the drivers turned up the heat themselves as there was plenty of hot action.

Michael Johnson of Austin added his name to the list of Chateau Speedway feature winners by taking top honors in the USRA B-Mod class.

It was also his first win overall at the track.

It was an impressive run for Johnson who worked his way to the front from a row five starting spot.

Johnson, along with Scott Demmer of Ellendale, Hunter Kennedy of St. Ansgar Iowa and Garitt Wytaske of Austin staged a wild four car battle for the lead thru the middle portion of the race.

Wytaske fell out of the battle when he got a piece of the wall in turn three.

Johnson eventually shook loose from the other two to pull off to the win.  Demmer took second ahead of Kennedy.

Noah Grinstead and Matt Brooks of Austin along with Kennedy took home wins in the classes three heats.

In French’s Repair USRA Modified action Jason Cummins of New Richland scored his second feature win of the year.

Cummins patiently worked his way from row three to the front taking the lead just before the halfway mark.

Darwyn Karau of Kasson and Kylie Kath of Claremont took the heat wins.

Chateau Speedway also announced there 2021 inductees for the Chateau Speedway Hall of Fame.

Another impressive list of name got the call for this years class.

Among them are four-time track champion Mike Sorensen, Bryan Hernandez, Wendell Kuehn, Ron Kester, Rex Garr adn legacy member Ron Ross.

It was also announced this last week that the "Spirit of 83" Mike Guttormson Memorial, which was rained out Memorial Day Weekend, has been rescheduled for Friday, Aug. 27.

Meanwhile, Chateau Speedways 65th Anniversary Season continues next week with seven classes back in action, hedlined by the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series featuring USRA Modifieds and USRA B-Mods.

Racing action kicks off with the first green flag at 7:15 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Speedway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, June 4, 2021


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Darwin Karau[1]; 2. 71-Jason Cummins[5]; 3. 4A-Joel Alberts[2]; 4. 55H-Aaron Hoff[3]; 5. 90-Ryan Wetzstein[4]; 6. 72-Doug Hillson[6]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 83-Kylie Kath[2]; 2. 24S-Charlie Steinberg[1]; 3. 77-Jacob Stark[3]; 4. 1-Blake Arndt[5]; 5. 36K-Jayden Larson[4]; 6. 15-Chris Loberg[6]

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins-New Richland [5]; 2. 90-Ryan Wetzstein-West Concord [9]; 3. 24S-Charlie Steinberg-Kasson [1]; 4. 55H-Aaron Hoff-Mantorville [10]; 5. 83-Kylie Kath-Claremont [7]; 6. 1-Blake Arndt-Brownsdale [2]; 7. 4A-Joel Alberts-Mantorville [6]; 8. 23-Darwin Karau-Kasson [4]; 9. 77-Jacob Stark-Austin [8]; 10. 72-Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie[11]; 11. 15-Chris Loberg-Elma IA [12]; 12. (DNF) 36K-Jayden Larson-Mankato [3]


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 99-Noah Grinstead[2]; 2. 22C-Michael Johnson[3]; 3. 20S-Kevin Johnson[4]; 4. 30-Scott Demmer[5]; 5. 83R-Kullen Kath[6]; 6. 27-Channing Warner[1]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 44-Matthew Brooks[1]; 2. 35JR-Garitt Wytaske[4]; 3. 45-Cole Lonergan[3]; 4. (DNF) 95-Josh Gesell[5]; 5. (DNF) 51-Shawn Evans[6]; 6. (DNF) 15-Zach Elward[2]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 02K-Hunter Kennedy[2]; 2. 25-Zach Nelson[1]; 3. 81K-Caleb Korpi[4]; 4. 75-Tyson Boge[6]; 5. 71-Jamie Tapp[3]; 6. (DNF) 83-Braeden Allen[5]

Feature (20 Laps): 1. 22C-Michael Johnson-Austin [9]; 2. 30-Scott Demmer-Ellendale [3]; 3. 02K-Hunter Kennedy-St Ansgar [8]; 4. 44-Matthew Brooks-Austin [1]; 5. 20S-Kevin Johnson-Bakersfield CA [6]; 6. 45-Cole Lonergan-Dexter [5]; 7. 81K-Caleb Korpi-Claremont [11]; 8. 99-Noah Grinstead-Austin [7]; 9. 27-Channing Warner-Owatonna [14]; 10. 75-Tyson Boge-Orchard IA [4]; 11. 71-Jamie Tapp-Myrtle [13]; 12. (DNF) 25-Zach Nelson-Owatonna [10]; 13. (DNF) 35JR-Garitt Wytaske-Austin [2]; 14. (DNF) 83R-Kullen Kath-Owatonna [12]; 15. (DNF) 15-Zach Elward-Hayfield [16]; 16. (DNS) 95-Josh Gesell-Ridgeway IA ; 17. (DNS) 51-Shawn Evans-Kenyon ; 18. (DNS) 83-Braeden Allen-Ostrander

Contact Us

© Copyright 2021 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group