Jackson tops Tony Roper Memorial
Print this page
May 30, 2021  |  by Ronnie Williams

Two-time USRA B-Mod national champion and current Lebanon Midway Speedway points leader Kris Jackson of Lebanon took the early lead from polesitter Colson Kirk and then survived a late-race caution in holding back Dayton Pursley to take his third win of the season.

A strong field checked in as the track played host to Ozarks racer Tony Roper in the 21st annual event and the fourth consecutive season at Midway.

Kirk and Jackson brought the field to the green as Jackson quickly jumped to the top spot from his outside front row spot as Kirk, Pursley and Donnie Jackson followed.

On lap 2 Pursley moved into second as Tyler Kidwell was coming to the front pack.

A quick pace and tight racing action saw some great racing as Jeff Douty, making his first Midway start, was moving up the ladder as Mitchell Franklin was on the charge challenging Kidwell for the spot.

Jackson opened the lead until a lap 13 yellow flew as Douty expired a motor in turn 4, slowing the pace and bunching the field tight.

On the restart, Pursley stayed glued to Jackson's back bumper as Franklin had earlier found his way around Kidwell as two-time and defending track champion Dillion McCowan was starting to make some moves forward.

A lap 17 caution slowed the pace as Pursley was looking to maybe pull off the upset as Franklin, Kidwell and Kirk were racing for spots among each other and a quick pack behind.

On the restart, Pursley kept pace even with Jackson until the white flew and Jackson opened up a three-car advantage as they crossed the line.

With added sponsor money from Lebanon Car Mart and the Lebanon UPS Store, the win was worth $700 to the winner as Shawn Whitman grabbed an extra $100 for his secenth-place finish

Fifteen of the 18 starters finished on the lead lap at the end of the 20-lap feature.

Qualifying heats went to Kirk, Jackson and Pursley while Jerry Ellis topped the "B" feature.

Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series action will continue next Friday, June 4, with USRA B-Mods headlining the card with a $500-to-win, $75-to-start feature.

Twenty-five entries means $1,000 to win the feature while second place would pay $500.

More information can be found at midwayspeedway.net or the track's Facebook page.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lebanon Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Sunday, May 30, 2021

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number and driver.


"A" Feature:
1. (2) 65 Kris Jackson
2. (3) 10P Dayton Pursley
3. (8) F1 Mitchell Franklin
4. (5) 54 Tyler Kidwell
5. (1) 55 Colson Kirk
6. (7) 8 Dillion McCowan
7. (10) 54W Shawn Whitman
8. (4) 42J Donnie Jackson
9. (13) 16M Brian Myers
10. (12) 20 Barry White
11. (15) 75 Gage Garoutte
12. (9) 14W Dustin Walker
13. (18) 11 Waylon Dimmitt
14. (14) T10 Sam McDaniel
15. (16) 24 Jerry Ellis
16. (17) 88 Brad McKinnion
17. (11) 28 Wesley Briggs
18. (6) 77 Jeff Douty

Contact Us

© Copyright 2021 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group