Sathoff, Kennedy, Nielsen, Espey win NCS features
Print this page
August 17, 2019  |  by Steve Zwemke

Dave Kennedy won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Dave Kennedy of Sioux Falls, S.D., won the final tune-up race heading into this weekend’s United States Modified Touring Series and Arnold Motor Supply Iron Man Challenge at Nobles County Speedway. Kennedy more or less dominated the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature Saturday night giving him two wins in a row. Bob Gilliland was second. One of the feel-good stories of the race was Corbin Erickson’s third place finish. Erickson came from ninth and passed Clint Erickson on the final lap in one of his best races to date.

Defending American Racer USRA Stock Car title holder Luke Sathoff was up to his usual tricks come feature time. After missing his heat race, Sathoff mowed down the entire field in exciting fashion during the main event, including Jon DeBoer who lead most of the race. Sathoff’s win was his fifth. That’s the most among all drivers who have raced in any of NCS’s divisions this year. Points leader Darrin Korthals crossed behind DeBoer in third.

Brandon Nielsen of Spencer, Iowa, fought tooth-and-nail with Justin Luinenburg to decide the Cook Racing Supplies USRA Hobby Stock feature. Luinenburg led several laps while the rest of the top five created some thrilling action. Among them were Nielsen, Tyler Lursen, Nick Schilling and Dan Strandberg. After Nielsen fought his way through the pack, he and Luinenburg raced side-by-side for a couple of laps before Nielsen claimed the point and the checkers. Lursen was third, Schilling fourth, and Corey Gronewold also snuck into the top five.

Scott Espey outlasted Bubba Brown to win the USRA Tuner main event. A mishandle by Brown sealed the deal for Espey who won his third feature. He leads Gary Grabill by 57 points in the standings.

Nobles Notes: The United States Modified Touring Series comes to NCS this Saturday, Aug. 24. In addition, plenty of cars will fill the pits for the Arnold Motor Supply Iron Man Challenge featuring American Racer USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods. Darrin Korthals was fifth in USRA Stock Car national points prior to Saturday’s races. Colors were presented Saturday by American Legion Post 32 of Adrian on Military Night sponsored by Little Friends Learning Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 17, 2019


Feature: 1. Luke Sathoff (Jackson, MN), 2. Jon DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 3. Darrin Korthals (Rock Rapids, IA), 4. Roger Verdoorn (Sibley, IA), 5. Gary Mattison (Lamberton, MN), 6. Jason Fisher (Lakefield, MN), 7. Rich Gregoire (Russell, MN), 8. Thomas Kracht (Luverne, MN), DNF: Jeff Larson (Lakefield, MN).


Feature: 1. Dave Kennedy (Sioux Falls, SD), 2. Bob Gilliland (Sioux Falls, SD), 3. Corbin Erickson (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Clint Erickson (Sioux Falls, SD), 5. Darin Veen (Worthington, MN), 6. Josh Van Westen (Sibley, IA), 7. Justin Voeltz (Hartford, SD), DNF: Nick Peters (Le Mars, IA), Jackson Mulder (Doon, IA).


Feature: 1. Brandon Nielsen (Spencer, IA), 2. Justin Luinenburg (Reading, MN), 3. Tyler Lursen (Adrian, MN), 4. Nick Schilling (Sanborn, IA), 5. Corey Gronewold (Worthington, MN), 6. Ernie Dailey (Worthington, MN), 7. Josh Bradley (Harrisburg, SD), 8. Trevor Kracht (Luverne, MN), 9. Dan Strandberg (Worthington, MN), 10. Cody Ross (Fulda, MN), 11. Tyler Pospisil (Worthington, MN), 12. Jaeden Strandberg (Worthington, MN), DNF: Travis Christensen (Sioux Falls, SD).


Feature: 1. Scott Espey (Alpha, MN), 2. Bubba Brown (Jackson, MN), 3. Josh Stanley (Paulina, IA), 4. Gary Grabill (Ellsworth, MN), 5. Shyanne McCulley (Sioux Falls, SD).

Contact Us

© Copyright 2020 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group