Petty shows championship form in Lebanon Midway speedway win
Print this page
April 12, 2019  |  by Ronnie Williams

Defending Lebanon Midway Speedway Out-Pace USRA B-Mod track champion Sam Petty took advantage of his front row starting spot and withstood charges from both Mitchell Franklin and defending national champion Kris Jackson in gathering his first win of the season Friday night.

With a two-row inversion for the 20-lap feature from the qualifying heats and last week's winner, Kris Jackson, starting in the 11th spot, Petty and Tyler Knudtson brought the field to the green with Petty wasting no time in going to the front on the slick track surface.

Young Franklin followed close behind Petty as Knudtson and Dillion McCowan were close behind but all eyes were on Jackson as he was picking off cars in style.

With a nice smooth pace, Jackson moved behind Franklin on lap 4 as Petty kept a smooth pace for the field. An outstanding two-lap battle between Franklin and Jackson saw Petty open a five-car-length advantage while further back at least five drivers going for the fourth spot.

On lap 7, Jackson started his charge to the leader as Franklin stayed close behind in third. With the long green run, action heated up at the front as Petty and Jackson put on an outstanding race as they caught the back part of the pack by lap 11.

Jackson made an attempt to grab the top spot but Petty held him back. On the following lap coming out of turn 2, Jackson had an issue with traffic and spun off turn 2, bringing out the caution and going to the back of the field.

Petty now found Franklin behind him as the field doubled-up for the restart, but Jared Monger spun while in a battle for a top 5 spot. This put the pack to a single file restart as Petty was trying to dispose of Franklin's MNo. F1.

A late caution for Brian Myers bunched the pack once again as Jackson was slicing through. The final three laps saw Jackson and Franklin in a heated battle for the runner-up spot as Petty, in his John West Logging/Mac's Performance Shaw, pulled away.

Franklinwas followed by Jackson, Knudtson, McCowan and Jamie Mauk.

Qualifying heat wins went to Jackson and McCowan.

Summit USRA Weekly Racing series action presented by Thompson's U-Pull-It Auto Parts of Lebanon will continue next Friday, April 19. Racing starts at 8 p.m.. Gates open at 5.

More information can be gathered on Facebook and the track's website at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lebanon Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Friday, April 12, 2019

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number and driver.


1. (1) 9 Sam Petty
2. (3) F1 Mitchell Franklin
3. (11) 65 Kris Jackson
4. (2) 8k Tyler Knudtson
5. (4) 8 Dillion McCowan
6. (8) 58m Jamie Mauk
7. (7) 10p Dayton Pursley
8. (6) 32 Kelly Hicks
9. (10) 52m Jared Monger
10. (9) 32f Mike Foster
11. (5) 16m Bryan Myers
12. (12) 28 Wesley Briggs
13. (13) 93b Tyler Brown

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group