Karau, Kath top honorees at Chateau Speedway awards banquet
Print this page
December 2, 2018  |  by Matthew Grage

The book on the 62nd season of racing at the Chateau Speedway in Lansing, Minn., was officially closed Saturday night, Dec. 1, as the track's annual banquet was held with awards handed out to the top drivers in each class. Owners Mark and Annette Wytaske hosted the event at the Eagles Club in Austin with about 150 people on hand to see the top 5 drivers in each class pick up their trophies.

Sitting on the top of the mountain for the third time in his career in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod class was Kadden Kath of Owatonna. It was his second straight title to add to his 2013 championship. Kath led the class with four feature wins.

A.J. Zvorak of Blooming Prairie, with one feature win on the year, finished second in points. Matt Brooks of Austin finished third while claiming his first career Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature win during the season. Hunter Kennedy of St. Ansgar, Iowa, and Jesse Baer of Minnesota Lake rounded out the top 5 honorees.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mod drivers receive their awards from promoters Mark and Annette Wytaske at the Chateau Speedway banquet on Saturday, Dec. 1, 2018.

In the USRA Modified class Darwyn Karau of Kasson claimed his second championship crown. Karau, who also took top honors in the class in 2015, claimed his first USRA Modified feature win during the course of the season.

Greg Pfeifer Jr. of Austin finished second in points with one feature win during the season. Another former track champion, Doug Hillson of Blooming Prairie, finished third in points. Hillson was the USRA Modified champion in 2009.

David Wytaske Jr. of Grand Meadow and Charlie Steinberg of Kasson were the rest of the top 5. Steinburg picked up his first career Modified feature win during the course of the season.

USRA Modified drivers receive their awards from promoters Mark and Annette Wytaske at the Chateau Speedway banquet on Saturday, Dec. 1, 2018.

During the Fall Extravaganza the Track allowed fans to vote on there favorite driver and that award was given out on Saturday night as well. Picking up the most fan votes was Kath.

The Wytaskes took over the track in mid-season after the track sat idle for the first half of the year. It had been announced in the spring that the track was up for sale and would not open unless it was sold. The sale was finalized in June with racing resuming in July. With adding a few specials at the end of the year, the track ended up hosting 10 race nights. There were six regular season nights that determined the track champions for 2018, and the track hosted three specials in September.

Overall, 281 different drivers took part in the action at Chateau Speedway in 2018 with 85 of those taking home at least one heat, consolation or feature event wins. Thirteen drivers took part in racing action in more than one class with four drivers taking wins in multiple classes.

So now the full focus can be on the preparations for the 63rd season next spring. The schedule has not been released yet but fans will be excited to know that all the fall specials are being planned on again as well as several more during the course of the year. When the final touches are completed that information should be out. Fans and drivers are asked to keep Friday nights open, as well as a few other special nights in 2019, to gather with family and friends where memories have been made and relived since 1956.

Fans can follow the track and get information on the track's website at www.chateauspeedway.com or by following them on their Facebook page.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group