Petty starts July 4th Holiday with a bang, takes Lebanon Midway checkers
Print this page
July 5, 2018  |  by Ronnie Williams

Sam Petty grabbed the top spot on the start and found himself capturing his second win of the season before a large crowd Tuesday night at the Lebanon Midway Speedway in a special Tuesday night race program featuring a full race program and an excellent fireworks display.

Petty, who lost the track points lead after last weekend's action, rocketed from his pole spot in leading all 15 laps of the feature.

Petty and Mike Striegel brought the field to the green as all eyes were on Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points leader Kris Jackson. Jackson had a piece of the rearend break during the heat race, but a quick trip to Chris and Howard Nichols' race shop just a short walk from the track and work began to repair and fix the issue. He made the grid just in time for the feature.

The only caution waved after one lap as Striegel got crossed up in turn 1. On the restart, Petty checked out from the field which included four of the top 10 nationally-ranked drivers.

Ricky Watkins had a strong showing by quickly shooting into second place with Chad Staus giving chase. Jackson, who started ninth, was patiently moving through the pack and moved around Staus into the third spot at the halfway point.

Up front, Petty was hitting his marks on the smooth racey surface, leaving the battle for second. Jackson and Watkins provided the large crowd an exccelent race as Watkins—a second-year driver—held back Jackson for the runner-up spot with Tyler Knudtson and Staus completing a tight top 5.

With the win and Jackson's third place, Petty moves into Friday night's action with a one-point lead over Jackson.

Action continues Friday, July 6, with a full racing program starting at 8 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lebanon Midway Speedway, Lebanon, Mo.
Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Feature race results showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number and driver.

1. (1) 9 Sam Petty
2. (3) 68 Ricky Watkins
3. (9) 65 Kris Jackson
4. (8) 8k Tyler Knudtson
5. (6) C3 Chad Staus
6. (4) 8 Dillion McCowan
7. (2) 17 Mike Striegel
8. (10) 16m Brian Myers
9. (5) 7r Rich Reynolds
10. (7) 32 Mike Foster

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group