Johnson races to first USRA Modified victory of 2018; Anderson, Harris also enter Brown Construction Night winner's circle at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
June 9, 2018  |  by Mark Merrell

USRA Modified feature winner Austin Johnson in the I-35 Speedway winnerís circle.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mods were just incredible on the 3/8-mile high-banked I-35 Speedway to start the feature events Saturday during Brown Construction Night.

Daniel Harris, who won his heat race, started outside row one with Mitch Booher on the pole. Harris roared into the lead, with side-by-side runs throughout the field and, at times, three wide.

Ed Noll, starting outside row seven, was caught in a whirlwind of two- and three-wide racing.

Lucas Isaacs, from his starting spot inside row five, was quickly moving through the field, and was soon putting pressure on Harris for the lead. Harris took the high side, with Isaacs down near the apron on the corners.

When the dust settled, Harris managed to hold off Isaacs to get his second win of the year, with Isaacs second, heat race winner Randy Ainsworth third, Blake Pierce fourth and Ed Noll fifth.

The Holley USRA Stock Cars were next in line, waiting to thrill the crowd.

Kevin Anderson started outside row one, with Nick Whalen on the pole. Anderson grabbed the lead as Dean Wray was racing his way through the pack after starting outside row four. Jeff Dixon was racing his way up toward the front, but an incident in turn three unfortunately cut his evening short.

Anderson held on to the front spot, gathering his second victory of the year. Wray finished second, with Aaron Sauter third, Trent Jeanes fourth and David Holcomb fifth.

The final feature of the night was the USRA Modifieds, who always put the fans on their feet each week at I-35 Speedway. Austin Johnson won the first of two heat races, with Shane Bailey winning the second. Bailey started the feature inside row one, with Johnson to his outside.

As the green flag flew, the pair raced into the first corner side-by-side. Johnson grabbed the lead, and the pair continued to run neck-and-neck around the track. Mark Dotson raced by Bailey on a restart and began to put a ton of pressure on Johnson for the lead. Johnson ran up on the cushion, while Dotson raced near the apron of the corners.

Just behind the pair, Dennis Elliott, Darren Shaw, Bailey, Billie Hoover and Derrick Hicks were slicing and dicing, trying to gain a position, or take another as the laps ticked away.

Johnson kept a hard-charging Dotson behind him, getting his first USRA Modified win on the season at I-35 Speedway. Dotson finished second, with Elliott third, Shaw fourth and Bailey fifth.

Next Saturday, June 16, I-35 Speedway will host the Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special with $3000 going to the winner of the second annual event.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, June 9, 2018

Feature race results showing finishing position, car number and driver.

1. 07 Daniel Harris (heat race winner)
2. 6 Lucas Isaacs
3. 57 Randy Ainsworth (heat race winner)
4. 16 Blake Pierce
5. 15 Ed Noll
6. 1 Kyle Henning
7. 91 Eddie Schwope Jr
8. 52M Dustin Miller
9. 0 Chase Galvan
10. 2 Jason Billups
11. 222 Dustin Crist
12. 117 Tim Galvan
13. 10 Johnny McGinnis
14. 22B Mitch Booher (heat race winner)
15. 94 Jared Hillyard
16. 10H Garrett Hill
17. 15X Corey Myers
18. 48 Shawn Grady
19. 32P Jeremy Pittsenbarger
20. 124 Anthony Hill

1. 417 Kevin Anderson (heat race winner)
2. 77 Dean Wray
3. 83 Aaron Sauter
4. 77T Trent Jeanes
5. 46 David Holcomb
6. 00 Nick Whalen (heat race winner)
7. 88 Jeff Dixon
8. 91J Jaylen Wettengel
9. 29 Nate Barnes
10. 93 Sam Scott
11. 75 Cletus Murray
12. S20 Gene Stigall

1. 98 Austin Johnson (heat race winner)
2. 85D Mark Dotoson
3. 29 Dennis Elliott
4. 11 Darren Shaw
5. 7 Shayne Bailey (heat race winner)
6. 99J Billie Hoover
7. 78 Derrick Hicks
8. 96 Danny Barker
9. 17$ Shane Lawson
10. 4M Manlee Lamar
11. 38 Anthony Logston
12. 97 Houston Johnson
13. 92 Tyler Grooms
14. 99H Tyler Hibner
15. 2H John Hanson
16. 75 Mike Johnson

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group