Tillman gets back on track, Dalton survives wild one at Springfield
Print this page
June 9, 2018  |  by Ronnie Williams

Springfield Raceway USRA Modified points leader Jody Tillman took the lead from front row starter Brian Green on the opening lap, and then kicked it into high gear in a dominating performance Saturday night at the "Quick Quarter" of the Springfield Raceway on Indigo Sky Casino Raining Money Night.

For the West Branson veteran it was his second feature win of the season. Green looked early to be able to match Tillman but issues forced him to the pits. Jim Body stayed within striking distance but could not match Tillman.

The real excitement was the battle for third place as Jerry Lankton and James Thompson went door to door for the final eight laps before Lankton was able to nip the spot at the finish line.

In Out-Pace USRA B-Mod action, track points leader Jackie Dalton took advantage of his outside from row starting spot and survived several attempts from Cody Jolly and a wild outcome in securing his second win of the season.

Dalton took to the high side of the racy high-nanked quarter-mile track and was fending back Aaron Scroggins and Jolly before Scroggins looped it late in the feature. Jolly and Bobby Pearish kept the heat on the leader—and each other—until a last-lap restart saw Jolly jump the top cushion in turn two as Pearish took advantage to secure the runner-up spot with points runner-up Justin Comer, Derek Watson and Dwight Niehoff completing the top five.

Action continues Saturday night, June 16, with Casey's General Stores Night featuring URSA Modified and Out-Pace USRA B-Mod action, plus Midwest Modz, Legends Cars and Pure Stocks with racing at 7 p.m.. For more information visit the track's Facebook page and website at www.springfieldraceway.com.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, June 9, 2018

Feature race results showing finishing position, starting position and driver.

1. (1) 85 Jody Tillman
2. (3) 71 Jim Body
3. (4) 35 Jerry Lankton
4. (9) 11T James Thompson
5. (6) 71E J.D. Kelley
6. (5) 73 Mickey Burrell
7. (8) 33D Danny DeMasters II
8. (7) 2 Adam Kaltenbach
9. (10) 11 Phil Harris
10. (2) 40G Brian Green

1. (2) 21 Jackie Dalton
2. (5) 26P Bobby Pearish
3. (10) 112 Justin Comer
4. (7) 5W Derek Watson
5. (19) 9D Dwight Niehoff
6. (9) 10D Russell Niehoff
7. (4) 00 Cody Jolly
8. (13) C88 Ferris Collier
9. (3) 82 Jace Parmley
10. (1) 1/4 Aaron Scroggins
11. (20) 34 Wes Long
12. (17) 55 Bill Schahuber
13. (16) 80 T.J. Yount
14. (6) 20m Mike Mansker
15. (8) 83N J.C. Newell
16. (21) 71III Jim Body III
17. (22) 1/4x Ron Scroggins
18. (15) 17R Rod Inman
19. (11) 30 Don Cloyd
20. (18) 3A Aaron Speck
21. (14) 1 Scotty Allen
22. (12) D7 Shawn Duncan
DNS – 21x Cody Ryder

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group