Elliott, Dixon, Harris, Noll among winners on Tompkins Industries Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
May 12, 2018  |  by Jacob Blair

Dennis Elliott won the USRA Modified main event on Saturday, May 12, at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mods were first to hit the track Saturday at the I-35 Speedway on Tompkins Industries Night for the scheduled make-up feature from last week. Front row starter Ed Noll drove around Luke Nieman on the top side of a tacky racetrack and began to set the pace for the caution free feature. Noll clicked off the laps and fended off any challengers on his way to the feature win. Nieman finished second while Chris Cain, Randy Ainsworth and Dustin Miller rounded out the top five.

The Holley USRA Stock Car feature may have only had a few cars, but they still put on one exciting show. Jeff Dixon, Eddie Schwope III and Cody Clarke traded positions the first half of the feature. At halfway, Clarke took the lead and began to create a gap back to Dixon. With only a few to go, Clarke jumped the cushion, handing the lead to Dixon. Schwope followed Dixon, passing Clarke and slotted into the second position. Dixon won the feature, while Schwope held off Clarke for second.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mods brought a stout field of 20 cars to the speedway. After a clean start the caution flew on lap three. From then on the caution flew several more times before the race ended. Nieman led most of the feature, although a hungry pack of drivers were trying to find a way by. Daniel Harris posed the biggest threat and late in the race made his move. Harris worked around Nieman and won the feature. Nieman hung on to finish second. Noll and Corey Myers battled side by side for several laps with Noll finishing third and Myers fourth while Chase Galvan finished fifth.

The USRA Modifieds had some difficulty getting laps in the books to start. A six-car pileup in turn four left several contenders out of the race early. After several other incidents, other contenders were wounded and attrition started to take its toll. Eventually the race would stay green as the final 18 laps were run caution free. Dennis Elliott started up front and found the low side of the speedway to his liking and put on a clinic. Elliott would take the checkered flag by almost a half track margin. Darren Shaw, one of those involved in an early incident, rallied to finish second. Chase Breid ran a solid race to finish third. Billie Hoover, John Hanson and Danny Barker battled all race long to settle the rest of the top five. Hoover took fourth and Hanson rounded out the top five.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, May 12, 2018


Makeup Feature (from May 5):
1. 15 Ed Noll
2. 181 Luke Nieman
3. 31 Chris Cain
4. 57 Randy Ainsworth
5. 52M Dustin Miller
6. 15X Corey Myers
7. 2T Todd Luke
8. 94 Jared Hillyard
9. 0 Chase Galvan
10. 07 Daniel Harris
DNS – 28 Andy Bryant
DNS – 10H Garrett Hill

1. 07 Daniel Harris
2. 181 Luke Nieman
3. 15 Ed Noll
4. 15X Corey Myers
5. 0 Chase Galvan
6. 52M Dustin Miller
7. 222 Dustin Crist
8. 31 Chris Cain
9. 10 Johnny McGinnis
10. 83 Coleman Browning
11. 2T Todd Luke
12. 48 Shawn Grady
13. 22B MItch Booher
14. 1 Kyle Henning
15. 19 P.J. Conger
16. 94 Jared Hillyard
17. 23 Casey Burnett
18. 81 Jacob Blair
19. 16 Blake Pierce
DNS – 57 Randy Ainsworth


1. 88 Jeff Dixon
2. 17 Eddie Schwope III
3. 69 Cody Clarke


1. 29 Dennis Elliott
2. 11 Darren Shaw
3. 12B Chris Breid
4. 99J Billie Hoover
5. 2H John Hanson
6. 4M Manlee Lamar
7. 96 Danny Barker
8. 38 Anthony Logston
9. 97 Houston Johnson
10. 98 Austin Johnson
11. 17$ Shane Lawson
12. R21 Ryan Schaffer
13. 78 Derrick Hicks
DNS – 99H Tyler Hibner
DNS – 75 Bobby Lopez

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group