Champions honored at I-35 Speedway awards banquet
Print this page
November 4, 2017  |  by J.D. Green

The I-35 Speedway awards banquet was held on Saturday, and it just gets better each year. With fabulous food, fun, great racing stores, dancing, smiles and happiness all around, this date was a week earlier than last year which allowed our deer hunters to enjoy their season.

A very happy social hour took place where racing stories from 2017 and plans for 2018 were discussed. Pit Stop Catering provided a scrumptious meal of smoked brisket and/or chicken, mashed potatoes, pasta salad, baked beans and a roll with dessert of cookies and cupcakes readily available.

High Maintenance Photography provided a video recap of the season.

Master of Ceremonies Jacob Blair and Mark Merrell took to the stage and hosted the evening’s awards. First, they brought up track owners Mike and Kyle Johnson to present the awards.

Congratulations to the 2017 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series track champions: Dennis Elliott (USRA Modifieds), Dean Wray (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Bud Wilson (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods).

Rookie of the Year awards went to Nic Hanes in USRA Modified division and Garret Hill in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods.

John Hanson and Manlee Lamar earned the Sportsman of the Year awards.

Special recognition awards were presented to the Community Ambulance Service of Daviess County and to the Show Me Vintage Racers and Mickey Fleehart. Hook of the Year went to Bridgeman’s Wrecker Service. The Gene Tuttle Award winner was Travis Shewmaker.

The awards ceremony culminated with the induction of Buz Kaster, Bud Wilson and Paula Wilson-Murphy into the 2017 class of the I-35 Speedway Hall of Fame. Then, in a surprise moment, owner Mike Johnson took the microphone and announced the 2018 class to be inducted into the Hall of Fame: Randy Ainsworth, Larry Kaster and Ed and Betty Schwope.

What a great end to an exciting fun banquet.

Final 2017 I-35 Speedway Points Standings (top 10):

1. 29 Dennis Elliott, Mount Ayr, Iowa ... 2039
2. 78 Derrick Hicks, Ravenwood ... 1962
3. 2H John Hanson, Stewartsville ... 1917
4. 98 Austin Johnson, Kansas City ... 1859
5. 97 Houston Johnson, Kansas City ... 1825
6. 17X Nic Hanes, Trenton ... 1527
7. 66 Billie Hoover, Stewartsville ... 1513
8. 96 Buzz Kaster, Kansas City, Kan. ... 1447
9. 11 Darren Shaw, Lawson ... 1204
10. 22H Clay Hale, Cameron ... 809

1. 77 Dean Wray, Jamesport ... 2434
2. 34 Mich Ross, Maysville ... 1674
3. 20X Jon Boller, St. Joseph ... 1482
4. XX20 Gene Stigall, Winston ... 1201
5. 23 Greg Gilbert, Osceola, Iowa ... 919
6. 19 Jay Barnes, Kearney ... 893
7. 83 Aaron Sauter, St. Joseph ... 790
8. 93 Sam Scott, Execelsior Springs ... 640
9. X9 Brad Whitney, Trenton ... 631
10. 20J Jayden Bears, Smithville ... 475

1. 20X Bud Wilson, Trenton ... 2101
2. 57 Randy Ainsworth, Excelsior Springs ... 2015
3. 15 Ed Noll, Excelsior Springs ... 1984
4. 91 Eddie Schwope, St. Joseph ... 1369
5. 17T Shadren Turner, St. Joseph ... 1346
6. 07 Daniel Harris, Excelsior Springs ... 1274
7. 7 Doug Keller, Easton ... 1231
8. 10H Garrett Hill, New Hampton ... 1167
9. 47X Connor Masoner, St. Joseph ... 1096
10. 94 Jared Hillyard, Pleasant Valley ... 909

Latest News from the USRA

May 22, 2018
I-35 Speedway having more fun
I-35 Speedway is the race track where we always have fun! Last weekend we had super-exciting races on Saturday and we introduced ATV racing on Sunday.  I-35 Speedwayread more
May 22, 2018
Tony Roper Memorial Memorial payout turning heads
The payout for the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods presented by S&S U-Pull-It Auto Parts this Sunday at the Lebanon Midway Speedway during the 18th Annual Tony Roper Memorial haread more
May 21, 2018
Kick off Memorial Day Weekend this Friday at Lakeside Speedway
This Friday,May 25, racing on the river’s edge at Lakeside Speedway is presented by Featured classes are USRA Modifieds, Holley USRA Stock Cars and Ouread more
May 21, 2018
USRA Modifieds share spotlight at 26th Annual Show-Me 100
One of dirt track racing's biggest weekends of the year is almost here with Lucas Oil Speedway to become the center of the short-track universe. The 26th Annual Shread more
May 19, 2018
Holman, Tarkington claim Tri-State Speedway wins
The Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series continued this past Saturday night at the mighty Tri-State Speedway. Low 90-degree temperatures greeted the fans as they arrived at tread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group