Zevenbergen's latest win worth $800 at Nobles County Speedway
Print this page
August 5, 2017  |  by Steve Zwemke

Elijah Zevenbergen won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

“It looks like we’re racing for second tonight,” a couple of drivers joked when Holley USRA Stock Car ace Elijah Zevenbergen pulled into the pits Saturday night at Nobles County Speedway. The $800-to-win event drew a 15-car field for the Holley USRA Stock Car portion of De Ruyter Pallets Night, including Zevenbergen, who continues to be at the very top of his game.

The Ocheyedan, Iowa, racer won the night before at Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, Iowa.

The beginning of the feature was costly for Dustin Larson. After the first green flag, Larson got together with Dustin Gulbrandson. Both drivers had to go to the work area – Larson for a flat tire. They were able to tag the rear. With a lap scored, Roger Verdoorn jumped the next start while leader Stefan Sybesma held his pace at the front. The resulting accordion affect ended with Larson’s car disabled in the fourth turn. He was unable to continue from that point.

Sybesma continued with the lead early until Zevenbergen sped past. Zevenbergen, who started sixth, never looked back. His win also came with a $200 bonus from Big Orv’s Bar in Adrain. Zevenbergen is the first driver to win Big Orv’s Bonus in the Holley USRA Stock Car division. The win was his second at Nobles County Speedway this season. He was followed across the line by Sybesma, Luke Sathoff, Dylan Fitzpatrick and Paul Wenzlaff.

 The Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature culminated in an amazing finish. Tim Dann out-battled Andrew Ahlers early in the race. Cullen De Ruyter made his way to second after getting by Ahlers. He hassled Dann for several laps while Jason Andrews came from sixth to join them. A late race caution forced a single file restart in which Andrews made the move of the night by passing De Ruyter and Dann immediately. The Estherville, Iowa, driver then raced to his first Nobles County Speedway win.

A similar situation highlighted the Schwalbach Plumbing & Heating USRA Hobby Stock feature. Chad Lonneman successfully held off Dustin Gulbrandson for most of the race. While it looked like Tyler Pospisil may have to settle for third, he had an excellent car from the start of the night. A green/white/checker finish proved that Pospisil and his car were up to the challenge. As Gulbrandson was able, for the first time in the feature, to pull alongside Lonneman, they raced cleanly out of turn four to the white flag. But as they travelled down the front stretch the drivers touched. Using the high side, Pospisil got by both drivers and took the lead before all three came out of turn two. He carried that momentum all the way to the checkered flag for his first win. Lonneman grabbed second ahead of Gulbrandson while Corey Gronewald came from 11th to fourth.

Luke Jackson became the first two-time winner in the Afterhour Awards and Graphics USRA Tuner class. Jackson grabbed the lead from Jason Wynia before earning the checkers. Wynia and Danny VanderVeen locked up in an exciting battle for second which was won by Wynia.

Racing is presented by DuPont Pioneer and 266 Ag Service with Busch Seeds and Russell Seeds on Saturday, Aug. 12, during the Nobles County Fair. Hot laps begin at 7 p.m. See details at www.noblescountyspeedway.com and be sure to visit the NCS Facebook page.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 5, 2017


Feature: 1. Elijah Zevenbergen (Ocheyedan, IA), 2. Stefan Sybesma (Sanborn, IA), 3. Luke Sathoff (Jackson, MN), 4. Dylan Fitzpatrick (Sioux Falls, SD), 5. Paul Wenzlaff (Yankton, SD), 6. Spencer Kalass (Luverne, MN), 7. Rich Gregoire (Russell, MN), 8. Jon DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 9. Gary Mattison (Lamberton, MN), 10. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 11. Roger Verdoorn (Sibley, IA), 12. Scott Knudson (Elkton, SD), DNF: Eric Gaul (Rushmore, MN), Derrick Nordstrom (Sioux Falls, SD), Dustin Larson (Worthington, MN).

Heat winners: Dustin Larson, Luke Sathoff.


Feature: 1. Jason Andrews (Estherville, IA), 2. Cullen De Ruyter (Ruthton, MN), 3. Tim Dann (Hartford, SD), 4. Andrew Ahlers (Baltic, SD), 5. Lyndon Johnson (Montrose, SD), 6. Kole Nordquist (Beresford, SD), 7. Curt Ahlers (Flandreau, SD), 8. Aaron De Thury (Sioux Falls, SD), DNF: Wade Gunnink (Lake Wilson, MN), Darrin Noyes (Sioux Falls, SD), Tyson DeKam (Edgerton, MN)

Heat winners: Andrew Ahlers, Jason Andrews.


Feature: 1. Tyler Pospisil (Fulda, MN), 2. Chad Lonneman (Adrian, MN), 3. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Corey Gronewald (Worthington, MN), 5. Dan Strandberg (Worthington, MN), 6. Tyler Schumbohm (Sioux Falls, SD), 7. Justin Regnerus (Middleburg, IA), 8. Joel Norris (Sioux Falls, SD), 9. Nick Janssen (Sioux Falls, SD), 10. Jason Bradley (Sioux Falls, SD), 11. Jackson Kracht (Luverne, MN), 12. Josh Bradley (Harrisburg, SD), 13. Jason Paulson (Hills, MN), DNF: Michael Weidert (Lismore, MN), Josh Lien (Sioux Falls, SD), Jake Manitz (Sibley, IA), Terry Larsen (Sioux Falls, SD), Nick Schilling (Sanborn, IA), DQ: Tom Kracht (Luverne, MN).

Heat winners: Dustin Gulbrandson, Tyler Pospisil, Chad Lonneman


Feature: 1. Luke Jackson (Sioux City, IA), 2. Jason Wynia (Garvin, MN), 3. Danny VanderVeen (Sioux City, IA), 4. Scott Espey (Alpha, MN), 5. Robert Pottratz (Lynd, MN), 6. Ryan Westman (Odin, MN), DNF: Dylan Schreier (Hadley, MN), DQ: Joshua Uhl (Luverne, MN).

Latest News from the USRA

August 18, 2017
Gillmore wires Out-Pace USRA B-Mod field at Grant Junghans Memorial
Ryan Gillmore of Springfield, Mo., started on the pole and then survived a late-race caution and a furious challenge from Steve Clancy in the final two laps to secure theread more
August 18, 2017
Fast Shafts await Grant Junghans Memorial winners
Sneak a peek underneath just about any modified circling America’s dirt racks today and you’ll find a Fast Shafts driveshaft putting the power to the back wheread more
August 17, 2017
Wood, Thornton share Iron Man Challenge spotlight at Pepsi Scotland County Speedway
Both Nathan Wood and Ricky Thornton Jr. left the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway $1,000 richer than when they arrived Thursday night after capturing the feature wins for tread more
August 17, 2017
Lucas Oil Speedway Spotlight: Young Moore carries on family racing tradition with strong Out-Pace USRA B-Mod season
Third-generation racer Taylor Moore is showing he's plenty capable of hanging with some of the best in the highly competitive Out-Pace USRA B-Mod division at Lucas Oiread more
August 16, 2017
Kidís Night takes center stage Saturday at Central Missouri Speedway
The ever-popular Kid’s Night at the Races takes place this Saturday as part of the weekly racing program at Central Missouri Speedway for Comfort Inn, Warrensburg Sread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2017 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group