Ahlers enjoys long-awaited Out-Pace USRA B-Mod win at Nobles County Speedway
Print this page
July 29, 2017  |  by Steve Zwemke

Curt Ahlers won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

For the first time in nearly 20 years Curt Ahlers of Flandreau, S.D., parked his car in victory lane after leading every lap of Saturday night’s Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature at Nobles County Speedway. Ahlers was joined by family members and even grandchildren who got to see him win for the first time on Ultimate Kids Night sponsored by The Ground Round and Holiday Inn Express.

Ahlers started on the pole and had to protect the bottom of the track from the likes of Cullen De Ruyter and Kole Nordquist.

“I could hear their motors every time I came out of the corners,” said Ahlers.

But, Ahlers was successful in shutting his opponents down in the even numbered turns which was the key to victory as he was pressed throughout the entire event. Nordquist finished second ahead of De Ruyter.

Several divisions saw the point standings tighten at the top after Saturday’s action. Most noticeably in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods where Ahlers is now just one point behind De Ruyter.

Rich Gregoire was also able to chip into Luke Sathoff’s lead in the Holley USRA Stock Cars. The two drivers started on the front row of the A-Main and were obviously taking note of how the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature was playing out as they waited in staging.

Once the green flag dropped, Sathoff worked the bottom ahead of Gregoire, Roger Verdoorn and Jon DeBoer. Gregoire was all over the back side of Sathoff’s No. 5 ride, looking high and low—and finding the occasional hole.

However, Gregoire wasn’t able to find enough momentum to drive by until very late in the race as the drivers came out of turn two. Gregoire then led the final two laps for his second win of the season.

Sathoff holds a 15-point lead over Gregoire after finishing second.

Rich Gregoire won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

“Woo,” was Nick Brady’s exclamation in victory lane after taking the USRA Hobby Stock A-Main—his first of 2017. Brady, who has a Ric Flair wheel cover on his right rear, emulated the wrestling legend after topping a tough field of USRA Hobby Stocks.

Brady started seventh and marched to the front before holding off challenges from Nick Schilling, Corey Gronewald and Dan Strandberg. He has had one of the most competitive cars in the field over the last month and everything finally came together for the No. 61N team.

Schilling finished second while Dustin Gulbrandson came from ninth to third.

Nick Brady won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

Joshua Uhl also cruised to victory in the USRA Tuner class. Uhl was coming off a Friday night win at Murray County Speedway.

Joshua Uhl won the USRA Tuner feature.

De Ruyter Pallets of Ruthton sponsors racing action on Saturday, Aug. 5. For more information log onto www.noblescountyspeedway.com or see the track's Facebook page.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, Minn.
Saturday, July 29, 2017


Feature: 1. Rich Gregoire, Russell; 2. Luke Sathoff, Jackson; 3. Roger Verdoorn, Sibley, Iowa; 4. Jon DeBoer, Little Rock, Iowa; 5. Derrick Nordstrom, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 6. Scott Knudson, Elkton, S.D.


Feature: 1. Curt Ahlers, Flandreau, S.D.; 2. Kole Nordquist, Beresford, S.D.; 3. Cullen De Ruyter, Ruthton; 4. Dave Kennedy, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 5. Jayden Larson, Mankato; 6. Andrew Ahlers, Baltic, S.D.; 7. Darrin Noyes, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 8. Wade Gunnink, Lake Wilson; 9. Jeff Wittrock, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 10. Tyson DeKam, Edgerton; 11. Eric Faber, Sioux Center, Iowa; 12. Anthony Voss; DNS - Jim Horejsi, Echo.


Feature: 1. Nick Brady, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 2. Nick Schilling, Sanborn, Iowa;, 3. Dustin Gulbrandson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 4. Corey Gronewald, Worthington; 5. Jason Bradley, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 6. Dan Strandberg, Worthington; 7. Ernie Dailey, Worthington; 8. Ryan Mulder, Harrisburg, S.D.; 9. Tyler Schlumbohm, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 10. Nick Janssen, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 11. Joel Norris, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 12. Josh Bradley, Harrisburg, S.D.; 13. Silas Top, Hardwick; 14. Jim Ed Gunderson, Brandon, S.D.; 15. Terry Larsen, Sioux Falls, S.D.


Feature: 1. Joshua Uhl, Luverne; 2. Scott Espey, Alpha; 3. Dylan Schreier, Hadley.

Latest News from the USRA

August 18, 2017
Gillmore wires Out-Pace USRA B-Mod field at Grant Junghans Memorial
Ryan Gillmore of Springfield, Mo., started on the pole and then survived a late-race caution and a furious challenge from Steve Clancy in the final two laps to secure theread more
August 18, 2017
Fast Shafts await Grant Junghans Memorial winners
Sneak a peek underneath just about any modified circling America’s dirt racks today and you’ll find a Fast Shafts driveshaft putting the power to the back wheread more
August 17, 2017
Wood, Thornton share Iron Man Challenge spotlight at Pepsi Scotland County Speedway
Both Nathan Wood and Ricky Thornton Jr. left the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway $1,000 richer than when they arrived Thursday night after capturing the feature wins for tread more
August 17, 2017
Lucas Oil Speedway Spotlight: Young Moore carries on family racing tradition with strong Out-Pace USRA B-Mod season
Third-generation racer Taylor Moore is showing he's plenty capable of hanging with some of the best in the highly competitive Out-Pace USRA B-Mod division at Lucas Oiread more
August 16, 2017
Kidís Night takes center stage Saturday at Central Missouri Speedway
The ever-popular Kid’s Night at the Races takes place this Saturday as part of the weekly racing program at Central Missouri Speedway for Comfort Inn, Warrensburg Sread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2017 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group