Johnson earns USRA Modified win at Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
July 15, 2017  |  by Lyndal Scranton

Matt Johnson of Archie, Mo., took the lead from speedway points leader Jeff Cutshaw on the backstretch on lap six and went on to win the 20-lap Pitts Homes USRA Modified feature aturday during the 11th annual CMH Diamond Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Cutshaw, starting outside on the front row, grabbed the lead after the start. Following four early cautions, he maintained the lead through five laps before Johnson started to pressure him, making making the pass coming out of turn two.

"These fans are great and it's a beautiful night for racing," Johnson said. "These guys we race against are good. I can't say enough about this MB Custom (car) and Scott Bailey engine. We've been thrashing this thing all night, having some issues. But it was top notch in the feature."

Cutshaw hung on for second, well ahead of Tracy Wolff in third. Terry Schultz was fourth and Scott Drake finished fifth.

"The yellows kind of messed up my groove a little bit," Cutshaw said. "The car was good; it was a little tight in (turns) one and two. But (Johnson) ran a great race."

A huge crowd was on hand for Saturday's show at the Lucas Oil Speedway.

Up next: One of the biggest weekends of the season is coming up, with the Geico Off Road Shootout Presented by General Tire set for next Saturday and Sunday, July 22-23, on the new Lucas Oil Speedway Off Road track. The venue opens on Friday with a practice day for the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, with gates opening at noon that day.

Saturday will be a day-night doubleheader. On the dirt track, the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series fires back up with National Wild Turkey Federation Night, featuring the Warsaw Auto Marine & RV ULMA Late Models, the Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds, the Big O Tires Street Stocks and the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods. The American Red Cross will be on hand with the Bloodmobile from 4 p.m. until 7:30 p.m.

For ticket information on either the Geico Off Road Shootout Presented by General Tire or the the Weekly Racing Series, contact admissions director Nichole McMillan at (417) 282-5984 or via email at for further information.

Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, Missouri. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With its entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks.

Click for more information and detailed directions to the speedway or call the Track Hotline at (417) 282-5984. In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking "Like" at and on

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo.
Saturday, July 15, 2017


Feature: 1, Matt Johnson, Archie; 2. Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar; 3. Tracy Wolf, Buffalo; 4. Terry Schultz, Sedalia; 5. Scott Drake, Diamond; 6. Chase Domer, Nevada; 7. Mark Dotson, Cameron; 8. Alan Brown, Alexander, Ark.; 9. Jason Pursley, Hermitage; 10. Kerry Davis, Parkville; 11. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 12. Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City; 13. Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla.; 14. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 15. Jeremy Greenwalt, Potosi; 16. Marc Herd, Wichita, Kan.; 17. Daniel Franklin, Berryville, Ark.; 18. Jay Arnold, Haskell, Okla.; 19. Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan.; 20. Jon Sheets, Liberal; 21. Larry Bratti, Springdale, Ark.; 22. Lance Town, Wellsville; 23. Floyd Whitney II, Sturgeon; 24. John Briggs, Branson; 25. Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado Springs; 26. Robby Love, Fort Scott, Kan.

Heat #1: 1. Alan Brown, 2. Johnny Fennewald, 3. Terry Schultz, 4. Donnie Fellers, 5. Lance Town, 6. Scott Drake, 7. Joe Duvall, 8. Daniel Wosoba, 9. Jon Sheets.

Heat #2: 1. Jeff Cutshaw, 2. Eric Turner, 3. Mark Dotson, 4. Marc Herd, 5. Jeremy Greenwalt, 6. Floyd Whitney, 7. Lucas Gibbs, 8. Robby Love.

Heat #3: 1. Chase Domer, 2. Matt Johnson, 3. Tracy Wolff, 4. Jason Pursley, 5. Larry Bratti, 6. Kerry Davis, 7. Daniel Franklin, 8. Jay Arnold.

Latest News from the USRA

November 20, 2017
Team effort sends Cutshaw to fourth straight Lucas Oil Speedway USRA Modified championship
The term "teamwork" sometimes gets tossed around like a cliche when race drivers review championship seasons. But when Jeff Cutshaw talks about team, it's lread more
November 19, 2017
Cummins, Kath top Chateau Raceway honors
The final wrap was put on the 60th season of racing action at Chateau Raceway this past Friday night, Nov. 17, as the 2017 awards banquet was held. Trophies were awarded read more
November 16, 2017
$250 mail-in rebate on all Chevrolet Performance crate engines
Get a $250 Mail-in Rebate on the purchase of any Chevy Performance crate engine, including all circle track engines, now until Dec. more
November 16, 2017
Bryant takes first Lucas Oil Speedway track championship with Out-Pace USRA B-Mod crown in 2017
Most successful race car drivers always strive for more and Andy Bryant is no different. Bryant, the 18-year-old up-and-comer from Fort Scott, Kan., is proud of a chamread more
November 13, 2017
Mississippi Thunder Speedway awards banquet Jan. 20
The 2017 Mississippi Thunder Speedway awards banquet will be on Saturday, Jan. 20, at the Black Horse Bar & Grill in Winona, Minn. Doors open at 5:30 p.m., awards read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2017 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group